Skip to main content

Humanitarian Relief

Gonzalez Suarez Law is able to evaluate whether a non-citizen is eligible to apply for some form of humanitarian relief.  If you have any doubts or questions about your immigration situation fill out the inquiry form at the end of the page.  

T Visa for Human Trafficking Victims

What is the T Visa?

The T visa is a temporary immigration benefit available to non-citizens who have experienced severe forms of human trafficking.  

Who is eligible for a T Visa?

  • Must be a victim of severe human trafficking, either labor or sex trafficking.
  • Must be physically present in the United States.
  • Must have assisted law enforcement in investigating or prosecuting the trafficking.
  • Must face extreme hardship if forced to return to their home country.

Industries Where Human Trafficking May Occur

construction workers


The construction industry has a high risk of human trafficking due to the nature of the work and the frequent hiring of temporary workers.



Farmworkers are a vulnerable group due to their isolation, lack of documentation, and dependence on employers for transportation and housing. 

cleaning lady


People who work in this sector can be exploited due to their low wages, lack of legal protection, isolation, and little supervision.

healthcare nurse


Healthcare workers are not immune as recruiters from their home countries can lure them with false promises of work conditions and pay.

U Visa for Victims of Crimes

What is the U Visa?

The U visa is a temporary immigration benefit available to non-citizens victims of certain qualifying crimes.  

Who is eligible for a U Visa?

  • Must be a victim of a qualifying crime that occurred in the United States.
  • Must have suffered substantial physical or mental abuse as a result of the crime.
  • Must have assisted law enforcement in investigating or prosecuting the crime.
  • Must be admissible to the United States.

Qualifying Crimes

victim of a crime



Witness Tampering



Obstruction of Justice

Domestic Violence       


Sexual Exploitation

False Imprisonment    

Sexual Assault

Slave Trade









Felonious Assault            

Other Related Crimes

VAWA for Victims of Domestic Violence

What is the VAWA?

The Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) offers immigration benefits to non-citizens victims of domestic violence. 

What are the requirements to qualify for a VAWA?

  • Must have a relationship with a qualifying relative abuser who is either a U.S. citizen or a lawful permanent resident.
  • Must demonstrate battery or extreme cruelty at the hands of their abuser.
  • Must have resided with the abuser.
  • Must demonstrate good moral character.  

Qualifying Relationships That May Self-Petition

Abusive relationship

Abused Spouses

Current or former, female or male, who married in good faith

unmarried children

Abused Children

Unmarried and biological, adopted or stepchildren

abused parent

Abused Parents

Of children 21 years or older


What is Asylum?

Asylum is for non-citizens who fear persecution in their home country on account of their race, religion, nationality, political opinion, or membership in a particular social group.

Who is eligible for Asylum?

  • Must be unable to relocate within their home country.
  • Must be physically present in the United States.
  • Must apply within one year of arrival to the United States.  
  • Persecution must be based on one of the five protected grounds.  

Types of Asylum Applications

USCIS Office


Asylum applications are reviewed by a USCIS officer in an office setting

Immigration Judge


Asylum applications are reviewed by an immigration judge in a courtroom

Inquire About Your Situation

Content on this page are summaries for general informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice.  

Please consult with an immigration attorney for personalized guidance on your specific situation.